British Country Music Awards Nominations Announced!

ticket copy

The nominees for the prestigious British Country Music Awards have been announced.
This event has attracted and become the benchmark for many artists who were previously unknown to the Country music fans who just attend the many events around the club scene and as Country music in the UK grows more and more young acts have been enticed to the genre and so these awards recognise those up and coming artists both here and abroad as well as the more celebrated performers. They are open to all.
Members of the British Country Music Association will have the final say on the winners when voting takes place.
Of the nominees Ben Earle gets three nominations including two with Crissie Rhodes as part of The Shires. Nathan Carter gets another nod for Entertainer of the Year, he was nominated too in 2014 and 2015 as was Raintown who must be doing something right, they have four nominations this year, one for Entertainer and the other three in Video, Album and Group categories. Gary Perkins, who recently won CCN Band of the Year also gets a nomination in the Entertainer category.
Newcomers to the awards nominations are The Southern Companion, Ashton Lane, Thorne Hill and Red Sky July. A spokesman said: ‘The quality of the British acts who have come to the fore since British Country music has stepped up to the mark means we shall be soon listening to more of our own acts rather than importing them from across the world. We can match the US with quality, we just need to get them publicised more. The likes of The Southern Companion, Holloway Road, The Shires and Ward Thomas are creating waves and it is no wonder the large recording companies have opened offices in London.’
For more details of the Awards Show and the Best of British event to be held the day before at the same venue in London or go to
The nominees are:
Entertainer of the Year
The Shires
Nathan Carter
Jess & The Bandits
Gary Perkins
Group of the Year
Jess & The Bandits
Gary Quinn Band
Red Sky July
Female Vocalist of the Year
Laura Oakes
Claire McArthur-Bain (Raintown)
Katy Hurt
Jessica Clemmons (Jess & The Bandits)
Crissie Rhodes (The Shires)
Musician of the Year
Lee Guyler
Justin Johnson
Scott Poley
Sarah Jory
John Pettifer
Duo of the Year
Ward Thomas
The Shires
Luke & Mel
Holloway Road
Ashton Lane
UK Album of the Year
Belle Cannon – Evolution
The Southern Companion – 1000 Days Of Rain
Raintown – Writing On The Wall
Thorne Hill – No More Holding Back
Red Sky July – The Truth And The Lie
Male Vocalist of the Year
Thorne Hill
Ben Earle (The Shires)
Nathan Carter
Pete Kennedy
Gary Quinn
Horizon Act of the Year
The Southern Companion
Acoustic Journey
Samantha Lloyd
UK Song of the Year
The Southern Companion – Crash
Katy Hurt – Love You More
Luke & Mel – Bad Habit
Ashton Lane – Seventeen
Raintown – Nineteen Again
International Song of the Year
Chris Stapleton – Tennessee Whiskey
Thomas Rhett – Die A Happy Man
Tim McGraw – Humble And Kind
Maren Morris – My Church
Carrie Underwood – Smoke Break
International Album of the Year
Chris Stapleton – Traveller
Thomas Rhett – Tangled Up
Carrie Underwood – Storyteller
Eric Church – Mr Misunderstood
Chris Young – I’m Coming Over
International Act of the Year
Little Big Town
Dixie Chicks
Phil Vassar
Thomas Rhett
Kip Moore
Video of the Year
Thorne Hill – Open Road
Raintown – Writing On The Wall
Luke & Mel – Bad Habit
Gary Quinn – Dodge Your Bullet
The Southern Companion – Drive

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don't miss new updates on your email
Scroll to Top

We’re thrilled to announce that Maverick Magazine is now available to you through 
our exclusive FREE digital subscription! Click below to subscribe now