Chris Stapleton mops up at the CMA Awards 2018

Chris Stapleton had a hugely successful night at The 52nd Annual Country Music Association Awards (CMA Awards/CMAs) at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tennessee, and took home the Male Vocalist of the Year award, while his song Broken Halos won  Song of the Year (songwriters) and Single of the Year.
Elsewhere, Keith Urban won Entertainer of the Year, current Maverick cover star Luke Combs won New Artist of the Year and Kacey Musgraves won Album of the Year for ‘Golden Hour’.
The full list of winners (with the winners in bold) and nominees are:

Entertainer of the Year

Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Album of the Year

‘From A Room: Volume 2’ – Chris Stapleton
‘Golden Hour’ – Kacey Musgraves
‘Graffiti U – Keith Urban
‘Life Changes’ – Thomas Rhett
‘The Mountain’ – Dierks Bentley

Single of the Year

Broken Halos – Chris Stapleton
Drinkin’ Problem – Midland
Drowns the Whiskey – Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert
Meant to Be – Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line
Tequila – Dan + Shay

Song of the Year (awarded to the songwriter(s)

Body Like a Back Road – recorded by Sam Hunt
Broken Halos – recorded by Chris Stapleton
Drowns the Whiskey – recorded by Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert
Drunk Girl – recorded by Chris Janson
Tequila – recorded by Dan + Shay

Male Vocalist of the Year

Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

New Artist of the Year

Lauren Alaina
Luke Combs
Chris Janson
Brett Young

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion

Music Video of the Year

Babe – Sugarland featuring Taylor Swift
Cry Pretty – Carrie Underwood
Drunk Girl – Chris Janson
Marry Me – Thomas Rhett
Tequila – Dan + Shay

Musical Event of the Year

Burning Man – Dierks Bentley featuring Brothers Osborne
Dear Hate – Maren Morris featuring Vince Gill
Drowns the Whiskey – Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert
Everything’s Gonna Be Alright – David Lee Murphy with Kenny Chesney
Meant to Be – Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line

Musician of the Year

Jerry Douglas –dobro
Paul Franklin –steel guitar
Dann Huff – guitar
Mac McAnally – guitar
Derek Wells – guitar

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don't miss new updates on your email
Scroll to Top

We’re thrilled to announce that Maverick Magazine is now available to you through 
our exclusive FREE digital subscription! Click below to subscribe now