Radio 2 Folk Awards take place April 27 at the Royal Albert Hall

Tonight Maverick will attend the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. The Awards are one one of the biggest dates in the UK folk music’s calendar. Now in their 17th year, the Folk Awards will take place at the Royal Albert Hall in London.
The awards will once again be hosted by Radio 2’s Mark Radcliffe and singer and musician Julie Fowlis. Attendees will be invited to celebrate the very best of the UK’s ever-thriving folk scene, many of whom have been supported by Maverick Magazine.
The Awards celebrate the best new music of the last 12 months, whilst also honouring the important figures who have helped to shape folk music in the UK. This year’s Lifetime achievement awards go to Joan Armatrading, one of the most impressive voices on British music since the 70s and Norma Waterson, a leading figure in the British folk revival of the early 60s with North Yorkshire vocal group The Watersons. The Young Folk Award has been a great help for exciting new artists over the years, this year’s winner will likely see an exciting step-up in their careers.
The Folk Awards will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 2 from 7.30pm and Simon Mayo will also be presenting a specially extended Drivetime show live from the venue at 5pm. Viewers can also watch online via the Radio 2 website, on iPlayer from Thursday morning and the Red Button from Saturday.
This year’s inductee into the Radio 2 Folk Awards Hall of Fame will be the legendary Sandy Denny. The Hall of Fame exists to recognise the special contribution of an individual to the world of folk music; someone whose impact and influence has had a lasting impression.
The full nominees are as follows
Folk Singer of the Year:
Eliza Carthy
Rhiannon Giddens
Sam Lee
Emily Portman
Best Duo:
Gilmore & Roberts
Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin
Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman
Marry Waterson & David A. Jaycock
Best Group:
Stick In The Wheel
The Young’uns
Best Album:
Damien O’Kane – Areas of High Traffic
Lynched – Cold Old Fire
The Unthanks – Mount The Air
False Lights – Salvor
Show of Hands – The Long Way Home
Horizon Award:
Rosie Hood
Sam Kelly
The Rheingans Sisters
Musician of the Year:
Ross Ainslie
Andy Cutting
Richard Thompson
Dan Walsh
Best Original Track:
The Rheingans Sisters – Mackerel
Marry Waterson & David A. Jaycock – Sing Me Into Your Tune
Rufus & Martha Wainwright – Sweet Thames, Flow Softly
Spiro – The Vapourer
Best Traditional Track:
Sam Lee – Lovely Molly
Ghazalaw – Moliannwn
Stick In The Wheel – Seven Gypsies
The Furrow Collective – The Unquiet Grave
BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award
Causeway Trio
Brighde Chaimbeul
Jack Cookson
Benammi Swift

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don't miss new updates on your email
Scroll to Top

We’re thrilled to announce that Maverick Magazine is now available to you through 
our exclusive FREE digital subscription! Click below to subscribe now