Loretta Lynn to receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

Loretta Lynn, Oprah Winfrey, Bill Clinton and Chicago Cubs legend Ernie Banks are among this year’s 16 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, President Barack Obama announced Thursday (Aug. 8). The award is the nation’s highest civilian honour presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the U.S., to world peace or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavours. The awards will be presented at the White House later this year. Lynn and Cuban-born jazz trumpeter, pianist and composer Arturo Sandoval are the only musical artists who will be honoured during a ceremony in Washington, D.C. Other recipients include women’s rights activist Gloria Steinem, former Washington Post executive editor Ben Bradlee and the late astronaut Sally Ride.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don't miss new updates on your email
Scroll to Top

We’re thrilled to announce that Maverick Magazine is now available to you through 
our exclusive FREE digital subscription! Click below to subscribe now